PMAS-AAUR 19TH Convocation

74 students were decorated with Medals, 26 awarded with PhD Degrees


Almost 3613 graduates of Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University Raalpindi (PMAS-AAUR) were awarded degrees while 74 students were decorated with Medals at the 19th Convocation onApril 24, 2018.


As many as 26 students received Ph.D degrees, 656 awarded with M.Phil & MS degrees, 1450 secured Masters Degrees, while 1481 students got undergraduate degree in their respective disciplines. Gold medals were awarded to 49 students on their outstanding performance in their academic record while 13 bagged silver and 12 secured bronze in the convocation.


Chairman Pakistan Agriculture Research Council Dr. Yousaf Zafar was the chief guest while PMAS-AAUR Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Sarwat N Mirza, China Huazhong Agriculture University delegation, Deans, Directors, Faculty members, graduates and their parents were also attended the convocation.


Dr. Yousaf Zafar urged the outgoing graduates to give their best input through transforming the knowledge and skills they seized during their academic life into practical endeavors for the prosperity and well being of the nation.


He said that it is need of the time to explore the potential of youth and use it for the development of science and technology which ultimately lead to the well being of mankind.


He also suggested the students to train their minds for logical and rational thinking to depict the level of high standard of education to meet with the international standards to compete the world.


He appreciated the pace of the multidimensional development of PMAS-AAUR and stressed the need of concentrated research in agri- sector, especially in relevance to the arid areas. He congratulated the graduates and also distributed medals and gave away degrees to the graduates.


Earlier, PMAS-AAUR Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Sarwat N. Mirza in his welcome address said over twelve thousand students are studying and four hundred twenty five scholars are pursuing their doctorates in different disciplines in the university that is fast becoming one of the prestigious seats of learning in the country.


"A number of Memorandum of Understandings (MoUs) with various national and International organizations has also been signed for academic and research sharing. The provision of better research facilities encouraged the faculty to publish 346 research papers in national and international reputed journals," he said.


The Vice Chancellor said the university has allocated funds to enable staff and students to engage in research activities aimed at providing solutions to societal problems besides promoting and defending intellectual and academic freedom, scholarship and innovation in the field of education.


He informed that the university has successfully entered the Phase-II of its Attock Campus that would be inaugurated soon, adding "Keeping in view the importance of modern day agriculture, the university has made remarkable achievements in the field of hydroponics."


Besides indigenization of hydroponic technology and use of local materials, the university is actively engaged in adoption of this technology at farmers' level, he said. He also informed that a mega project of establishing twelve units in entire Punjab at different locations is near completion by the university.


Providing details about the efforts of the university to improve academic and research activities he said a number of teaching departments have been strengthened through the infrastructure development, procurement of sophisticated scientific equipment and purchase of books. "The faculty members have earned a good number (129) research projects worth Rs. 577.154 million from different funding agencies like HEC, PSF, PARC, & UAF," he said.


Encouraging the students for their efforts he said "We share the joy and glory with your parents, guardians, sponsors and faculty members of the departments who have made significant contributions to your education


PhDs Degrees


Sunbal Khalil Chaudhari (Botany), Muhammad Maqsood (Botany), Muhammad Shoaib Amjad (Botany), Farhat Yasmeen (Botany), Surrya Khanam (Zoology), Shahnaz Bibi (Zoology), Khalil Hameed (Zoology), Muhammad Aqeel Aslam (Agronomy), Abdul Ahad (Horticulture), Zaheer Mehmood (Horticulture), Mah Jabeen Tariq (Plant Breeding & Genetics), Adnan Ahmad (Plant Pathology), Muhammad Azeem (Soil Science), Muhammad Javed (Soil Science), Shah Rukh (Soil Science), Tariq Ziad (Soil Science), Luqman Riaz (Environmental Sciences), Mateen Shafqat (Environmental Sciences), Lubna Ansari (Forestry & Range Management Sciences), Bushra Allah Rakha (Wildlife Management), Saima Yousaf (Wildlife Management), Sumaira Khalid Butt (Food Technology), Saima Tariq (Food Technology), Raja Tahir Mahmood (Biochemistry), Muhammad Saqlain (Biochemistry), Shumaila Shaheen (Biochemistry)


Gold Medalists


Nadeem Shah (B.Sc Hons. Plant Pathology), Muhammad Zahid Farooq (M.Sc Hons. Agriculture Extension), Maryam Mumtaz (M.Sc Hons. Entomology), Maila Al Saba Shah (M.Sc Hons. Horticulture), Samia Fatima (M.Sc. Hons. Plant Breeding & Genetics), Sundas Arooj Butt (M.Sc. Hons. Soil Science), Kanza Sajid (M.Sc Botany), Saba Mumtaz (M.Sc. Zoology), Saadat Ali (M.Sc Mathematics), Tatheer Fatima (M.Phil Biology), Imran Khan (M.Phil Botany), Huma Shaheen (M.Phil Zoology), Rubab Mubarik (BS Economics), Ansa Sadaf (M.Sc. Anthroplogy), Amara Aftab (M.Sc Economics), Shajia Saleem (M.Sc Education), Arshad Iqbal (M.Ed), Nadia Zaheer (M.Phil Economics), Zia-ur-Rehman (M.Phil Education), Ayesha Kiran (M.Phil Socilogy), Nooruddin (BS Forestry), Mudassar Hussain (M.Phil Forestry & Range Management), Hammad Nayyar Ghauri (DVM), Anees ul Mustafa (B.Sc Agricultural Engineering), Waqar Muhammad (M.Sc Hons. Agricultural Engineering), Iram Jamil (BBA Hons), Gul e Hina Ijaz (MBA Agribusiness), Zoya Malik (MS), Sania Mushtaq (BSCS), Areaba Ahmed (BSIT), Shahzaib Nisar (MCS), Sabira Feroz (MSCS), Ayesha Bukhari (M.Sc Hons Food Technology), Ghanan Bin Akhtar (BS Biochemistry), Attia Rehman (M.Phil Biochemistry), Muhammad Ibrar (BSCS), Muhammad Usman (BSIT), Nayab Naseer (MIT), Hina Yasin (MCS), Umar Farooq (MSCS), Muhammad Faizan Shabbir (BBA Hons), Ahtesham Khurshid (BSCS), Muhammad Afzal (MCS), Ayesha Faryad (MCS), Ijaz Ahmad (M.Sc Mathematics), Hafiza Sana Ashraf (MCS), Sami Ullah (MIT), Humaira Parveen (M.Sc Economics), Sajida Parveen (M.Sc Mathematics)


Silver Medalists


Afzaal Azmat Khan (B.Sc Hons. Agronomy), Salman Javed (BS Economics), Muhammad Farrukh Iqbal (BS Forestry), Ammara Khaliq (DVM), Filza Fatima Rizvi (B.Sc Agricultural Engineering), Rukhsana Perveen (BBA Hons), Arslan Ahmad (BSCS), Saqib Shehzad (BSIT), Humera Shafi (BS Biochemistry), Tahir Bilal Pasha (BSCS), Asad Farooq (BSIT), Daniyal Maqsood (BBA Hons.), Muhammad Qasim Zaman (BSCS)


Bronze Medalists


Rana Arsalan Javaid (B.Sc Hons. Plant Breeding & Genetics), Kinza Ahmed (BS Economics), Muhammad Ali (BS Forestry), Hafiz Mian Muhammad Awan (DVM), Ehtisham Maqbool (B.Sc Agricultural Engineering), Sidra Shahid (BBA Hons), Ali Zia Khan (BSCS), Hussain Ali (BSIT), Iqra Shafique (BS Biochemistry), Sohaib Ali (BSCS), Fariha Akram Mir (BSIT), Muhammad Bilal (BSCS).